Initial License & Examination (L.A.R.E.):
Q: As I live and work in Kentucky, shall I apply to the Kentucky Board to take the L.A.R.E.?
A: The Kentucky Board no longer administers the L.A.R.E. Beginning in 2012, all sections of the examination are administered by CLARB via computer. In order to apply & register for the examination, please visit www.clarb.org
Q: Do I have to wait until I have two years of professional experience before I begin taking the L.A.R.E.?
A: Kentucky candidates may take the L.A.R.E. any time they wish. As Kentucky law requires that you acquire two years of professional landscape architecture experience prior to being granted a license, there is no need to apply for an initial license until you have accumulated two years of professional experience.
Q: I have a BLA from an accredited program & have now completed the L.A.R.E. When should I apply to the Kentucky Board for a license?
A: As Kentucky law requires that all licensees have an accredited degree, complete the national examination (currently the L.A.R.E.) and have two years of professional experience, the Board suggests that you apply once all of these requirements have been met.
Q: By what date does my license need to be renewed?
A: June 30th of each year. There is no grace period to renew. If a license is not renewed by June 30th of each year, it expires and must be reinstated.
Q: What happens if I cannot renew by the June 30th deadline?
A: Your license will expire July 1 and if you previously held an active license, both your privilege to title yourself as a "Landscape Architect" and your ability to practice landscape architecture ceases. Any license not renewed by June 30th must be reinstated (which requires proof of continuing education activities and paying a reinstatement fee.)
Q: How many hours of continuing education activities must I report annually?
A: Each licensee is required to report at least twelve (12) hours of continuing educational activities each year. Licensees are also allowed to carry forward a maximum of twelve (12) hours annually.
Q: If I haven't completed the continuing education requirements by the renewal deadline, should I renew my license and follow up with the continuing education report at a later date?
A: No. A license cannot be renewed without the completion of a continuing education report & providing verifications of completion.
Reinstatement of an Expired License:
Q: What are the requirements to reinstate a license that has expired or was automatically suspended for non-renewal?
A: You must pay a reinstatement fee (which is determined by the length of time your license has been expired) as well as bring continuing education requirements current & provide proof of completion for CE activities.
Q: What is the cost to reinstate a license?
A: The reinstatement fee depends on how long the license has been expired:
* Within 30 days of expiratio date: $300
* 31 - 60 days from date of expiration: $350
* 61 - 364 days from date of expiration: $500
* 365 or more days from date of expiration: $750
Q: How many hours of continuing education activities must I report to reinstate an expired or automatically suspended license?
A: The number of hours required to reinstate a license depends on the length of time a license has been expired. The requirement will be between 0 and 24 hours. The maximum number of hours required to reinstate a license is twenty four (24), which equals two years’ of CE requirements.
Q: When I report CE activities during the reinstatement process, may I report all activities I’ve attended since my last report to the Board?
A: You may report CE activities as far back as two years from the date of your reinstatement request.